Texas Motorcycle Helmet Laws

Deep in the heart of Texas, you need both a helmet and insurance to ride your motorcycle legally. At Access Insurance Services serving San Antonio, TX, we want to help you remain safe and legal on the streets of our state.

Texas requires riders wear a helmet for both fiscal and physical reasons. If riders in the US had always worn helmets when riding, the country would have saved $1 billion in medical costs. Wear a helmet reduces the risk of death by 37 percent and reduces head injury risk by 69 percent.

You will see riders in Texas who do not wear a helmet. They are not all lawbreakers.  Only riders less than 21 years of age must wear a helmet. Once you reach the age of 21, you get two options to use if you do not wish to wear a helmet while riding.

  • Complete a safety and training course for motorcycle operators.
  • Present proof of health insurance coverage that provides medical coverage for the treatment of injuries from a motorcycle accident.

While failure to wear a helmet qualifies as a secondary offense, that does not mean you should ride without one. A secondary offense refers to a violation that a police officer cannot use to stop a rider. They need a different primary offense such as a broken taillight or speeding to make the moving violation. If you get stopped for another reason, the officer can check for the two exceptions. You must always carry proof of either the training course graduation or the health insurance exception.

Wearing a helmet does not qualify for an insurance discount, but contact Access Insurance Services to learn how you can get the coverage you need at a reasonable price. We want to help San Antonio, TX riders remain safer on the road. Call us today.